Skip to content

My Shoes, My Reviews and I

July 26, 2009

When I started to run again, I assumed that running was one of the cheapest sport there is. All you needed was a shirt, a pair of shorts and a pair of rubber shoes and you’re ready to go. Boy, was I wrong! I learned that the more I get addicted to running, the more I needed gear to improve my PRs. Still, running is cheaper than my old sport (golf) and less time consuming.

I ran because I wanted to lose weight. I had to engage in another exercise besides Hip Hop Abs and Yoga. I had a pair of rubber shoes which I bought from Singapore during one of my trip as the family and I did ALOT of walking and I was forced to buy a pair. Hubby didn’t like Nikes as he felt that these were overrated. So he bought me a pair of Adidas Eva, Adidas being his favorite brand. This was the pair I used when I started to run.

Fast forward 4 months, now a certified running addict, I have 4 pairs of running shoes. My old Adidas Eva which I still use for XT; a pair of Adizero Ace, which I bought to avail of the recent Trade-in promo; a pair of Nike Air Alaris 2+, an impulse buy as it was on sale and I really wanted to try out the Nike+ iPod sensor (I didn’t know then that you could use non-Nike shoes with the sensor, check out my previous blog Adizero, Nike+ and Google Knowing All) andย  pair of Mizuno Wave Frontier 2, which I bought from the very helpful shop…SecondWind).

Reviews:

Adizero Ace

Adizero Ace

My husband has been using Adidas since he was a kid. From casual wear to soccer and now running, he is a diehard Adidas fan. His favorite running shoes is a pair of limited edition Adizero Mana. So it was no surprise that he decided on Adidas as my 2nd pair of shoes for running, this besides the fact that Adidas had a 1k off trade-in promo. He is a practical person ๐Ÿ˜‰

I broke these shoes during an evening run in Ultra. These were the lightest shoes I’ve ever worn. It worked well for me during slow runs, speed work and even the drills. Since it has a mesh upper, I felt that these shoes were well-ventilated. I also noticed that I improved my time running with these shoes compared to my heavier Nike Air Alaris 2+.

However, I have noticed that the cushioning is just right for running 5k-8k. Any distance beyond 8k would require more cushioning. Then again, I am a bit on the heavy side. I also experienced blistering on my left arch while running with these shoes during my last race (Globe Run for Home). My hubby blamed it on the socks I wore that day.

Pros:

Lightweight – These are the lightest shoes I have every tried on.

Mesh upper – Well-ventilated.

Responsiveness- Quite good.

Good price points- P3,490

Cons:

A bit narrow for wide feet like mine. I believe this is the reason why I got blisters on my left foot arch. The upper mesh was rubbing on to my arch.

Cushioning might not be enough for some as the rubber sole was a bit too thin as to not compromise the lightweight feature, I assume.

I rate these shoes 8/10. I would wear them again, maybe with thicker socks.

Nike Air Alaris 2+

Nike Air Alaris 2+

Nike Air Alaris 2+

An impulse buy as I said, I bought this pair due to two things: Its Nike+ ready capability and the fact that it was on sale that day.

I wore these shoes more during training and only once during a race.

I loved the fact that it was Nike+ ready. My world was opened to the world of responsive racing and AI coaching using Nike + iPod sensors.

Heavier than the Adizero, these shoes gave me the cushioning that I felt my knees require. The upper and body was wide enough to accommodate my feet and were very comfortable to wear.

However, the front are of the shoe felt too hard and might need more cushioning/padding. Wearing these shoes I felt made me more prone to shin splints. Little did I know that Air Alaris 2+ was made to accommodate moderate overpronation, a condition which I do not have. These are stability shoes. I guess impulse buying isn’t paying off when buying a good pair of running shoes ๐Ÿ˜‰ Tsk, tsk…I guess I need to buy another pair of Nikes soon (maybe a LunarGlide+ ;-))

Pros

Great cushioning

Nike+ ready

Wide upper

Lightweight -Even if it’s a bit heavier than Adizero, I would still consider this lightweight

Good stability shoes

Good price point -P3,690

Cons

Hard front upper

Needs improvement on front cushioning

Rating: 7.5/10. It might not be the correct pair for me but I was still comfortable wearing these nonetheless.

Mizuno Wave Frontier 2

I visited a running specialty store called Second Wind to have my gait analyzed and checked. I was procrastinating on this task for months before that very fortunate day. Good thing Hector was there to assist me. He asked me to run in a treadmill while in my business attire. I had to fold my slacks up to my knees so he can give an accurate assessment. I must’ve looked ridiculous! ๐Ÿ™‚ After the assessment, he diagnosed me to be a neutral runner. Wow! This is great! Neutral gait = more shoes to choose from. Ok, so the shopaholic in me is coming out…

I then asked him to recommend a good pair of shoes with ample cushioning for neutral runners. He gave me 3 options. His best reco was a pair of Asics Gel Nimbus 10. I loved the fit and the bounce but he didn’t have my size and it was really expensive at P6,750. Next was Mizuno Wave Precision 9. The colors were psychedelic. Hector recommended I get the orange one. I was a bit hesitant but seriously considered it. However, upon trying it on, I felt that the for wasn’t for me. We tried a larger size but it was too big. He then recommended 2 more shoes. The Mizuno Wave Frontier 2 and the Asics Gel Kanbarra 3.

I first tried on the Mizunos. These shoes felt great! Although they were a bit heavy, the comfort you would feel would be worth it. It felt like I had my feet enveloped in pillows. Whether that’s a good comparison or not, I felt that I had finally found my training shoes ๐Ÿ™‚ Just to make sure, I tried on the Asics Kanbarra. It looked and felt durable but it was just too hard compared to the Frontiers.

I tried training and racing with these shoes. Training was great. Racing was alright but if you are aiming to beat your PR, running on 5k-10k then a lighter shoes would be more suited. For cushioning, these shoes are the best I’ve tried so far. I am a midfoot runner but sometimes would experiment running with heel strikes. I injured myself doing this with my Nike and my Adizeros.ย  It doesn’t make a difference with Mizunos.

Pros

Very comfortable

Well-cushioned

Wide upper

Good price point at P3,995

Cons

Quite heavy

Moderate ventilation

Limited color options (I got it in white and silver, the only color available in SecondWind)

Rating: 8.5/10

Now to get me one of those Nike LunarGlide+ and Asics Gel Nimbus 10. Yes, running is not becoming an expensive sport.

I FINALLY managed to get my hands on a pair of Nike LunarGlide+, an early Christmas present from my sister Claire. I love the color she chose…RED! I was planning to get ’em in purple but I fell in love with this color ๐Ÿ™‚

Red Nike LunarGlide+

I chose my favorite route, BHS to Mckinley Hills and back, to test Max (name a gave my LunarGlide+). ย I promised hubby that I would run with him as long as we go to McKinley Hills…well, at least the 1st part of the route ๐Ÿ˜‰ย We initially decided to run at a very relaxed pace of 7:30. ย After 1.2k of warm up, we headed to McKinley Hills. I guess hubby felt motivated to run faster. I was surprised to see that he started to run with a pace of 6:30, 6:00 to 5:30 until we reached the intersection of McKinley. It was exhilarating to run side-by-side with him at that pace. Max was doing great! He was very light and yet, he gave me enough cushioning. I also did not experience any shin splints which was great!

McKinley Hills (Downhill, Uphill, Roundabout)

Great performance! Max was great during my run downhill towards McKinley Hills, uphill back towards BHS! Still no shin splints. By this time, I had decided to push myself to a faster pace to further test Max. I was maintaining a 6:00 to 6:15 pace from Essensa to further down McKinley intersection and back to BHS. I cannot find anything to complain about these LunarGlides. Such awesome pair of shoes!

Pros

Lightweight

Well-cushioned

Variety of colors to choose from (hey, an essential for every girl!)

Nike+ iPod Kit compatible

Cons

Quite pricey at P5,495

Rating: 9.5/10 (I would’ve given it a 10 if it were not priced so high, then again…I got it for free ๐Ÿ™‚ )

I got my 2nd pair already in the classic white and orange.

Keep on running! No barriers…

From → Running

2 Comments
  1. i always choose running shoes made of synthetic leather because they last longer than natural leather :

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mizuno Infinity Run 2010 « Gailcons's Blog

Leave a Reply

