Skip to content

Running for Tita Cory

August 7, 2009

Run for Cory Team Makati

Runners from different areas within the Metro, ran yesterday in different locations, different time but with one common goal. This is to commemorate a great Mother of Democracy, Corazon Aquino, Tita Cory to many.

It was a rainy day yesterday, but this didn’t stop us and our co-running addicts from running. A group ran in AAV. Another in UP at 5am; in Mandaluyong at 5am. We chose to run with the Makati group who met up at 6pm to run around Ayala Triangle and Salcedo Village. Most donned yellow shirts or their iamninoy runner shirts. I for one, have not picked up my shirt from BHS yet so I decided to tie a yellow ribbon on my cap instead.

I didn’t realize that it would be pleasant to run in Makati. I always thought it would be polluted and too stressful, as one will have to avoid getting bumped by a number of vehicles. Fortunately, this was not the case. We started to run around the Ayala Triangle. Since it was raining, the sidewalks were a bit too slippery. We opted to run on asphalt instead making sure that we do not interfere with the flow of traffic. We then made our way to Sedeno, Valero and HV Dela Costa. I was pleasantly surprised to see a number of runners on the route as us. I even saw a friend of mine running his heart out along Dela Costa! πŸ™‚

A great run for a great and well loved leader. Maraming Salamat Tita Cory.

Keep running! No barriers…

From → Running

6 Comments
  1. m8parco permalink

    Addict ka na talaga sa takbo!

    • gailcons permalink

      tito mark, look who’s talking πŸ˜‰ hehe! just kidding!

  2. Nice one Gail, inggit ako dahil you guys were able to put in your fair share in honoring Tita Cory while I was nursing my injury. It’s something you could tell your kids about when they grow up and be runners themselves πŸ˜›

    • gailcons permalink

      Ok ang yan Luis. I am sure you honored her in your own little way. I was really proud to feel the unity of the Filipino people during this trying time. Tita Cory really had an impact in our lives and I hope even in our Children’s lives πŸ™‚ Galing talaga! I hope you get well soon. I read that you injured yourself during the Run for Home. Take it easy. May Urbanite pa πŸ˜‰

  3. Gail! I ran also pero sa UP 6:30AM na ata kami nagstart… ayun.

    • gailcons permalink

      Argo! πŸ™‚ Yes, I saw nga sa blog mo. But the Makati Team beat the QC Team in terms of attendance. Hehe! Just kidding! It’s great that you were able to go to Times. At least sa inyo may program pa. See you sa Urbanite! Parteeee after…kanta ka ulit ng careless whisper. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

