Skip to content

Highlights of 2009

January 2, 2010

At the start of each year I look back and reflect on all the blessings God has bestowed on me during the previous year.

Here are my Top 9 highlights for 2009

1. Losing 20+ pounds.

I have tried possibly all the simple diets are there but nothing stuck. There is simply no shortcuts to losing (and maintaining loss) weight. I started by counting calories (a technique which I learned from Wowie). I coupled it with Yoga and HipHop Abs. I then started to walk everyday. I wanted to be more active so I started to run which brings me to highlight number 2.

this is me...NOT...i'm not this thin yet ๐Ÿ™‚

2. I discovered a sport which I have learned to love, RUNNING.

Not that I did not like any of my previous sport but I am passionately addicted to running. It gives me the serenity of golf, the thrill of firing and the excitement of badminton. A perfect match to running would be Yoga, another activity which I enjoy immensely. Having running hard cores Tiffin (Tita) and Mark (Tito) Parco as my inspiration really encouraged me to push harder. In addition, I discovered a Takbo.ph, a community of runners which promotes active running in the Philippines. The members of this community helped me enjoy the sport more. I can truly say that they are my running family ๐Ÿ™‚

my Takbo.ph family

3. New job challenges.

I know…it sounds cliche but I really LOVE what I do. I love being challenged, creating new projects, working with people on a project from conceptualization to implementation.

me likey...

4. Chito’s improvement

My youngest son, Chito, was diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Delay, part of the Autism spectrum. I enrolled him in Shine Intervention Center hoping that early intervention would eventually improve his condition. With God’s blessings, he drastically improved. Currently, he can (sort of) communicate with us. He socializes more often now and he follows instructions. His cognitive skills are continuously improving. I am amazed that he can read books for 8 year olds, he even scans and reads bits and pieces of my Women’s Health mags. Adorable!

Chito reading daddy's book...History of the Armed Forces of the Filipino People

5. Discovering photography

I have always wanted to take beautiful pictures of my surroundings but I never found the time nor the patience. My brother gave me a Nikon D60 as an advanced birthday present and I immediately enrolled in Jo Avila’s Basic Photography course. The experience was amazing. Taking beautiful pictures of my environment and my family are priceless ๐Ÿ™‚

blue reflections

6. Lola Lydia

My husband’s maternal grandmother, Lola Lydia passed away mid-2009. However, I got to spend quality time with her during her last few months alive. She was the one who encouraged me to walk every evening in the compound. I would look forward to chatting with her after my exercise. She tells great stories of her family’s history. We chat about anything under the sun. I was glad I got to spend time with her when she was still with us.

we miss you Lola!

7. Trip to Brazil

Although not one of the most pleasant (30+ hours travel just to get there), it was truly one of the most memorable trips I have had. Partly because I will probably not be going back there anytime soon. The travel was just too long and too tiring. The sites and the company were great though. Traveled to Sao Paolo, Rio de Janeiroย and Iguassu where I saw (and experienced) the Iguassu Falls, it was beautiful. It was a rainy trip so we didn’t have a chance to fully experience the beach life in Ipanema and Copacobana. And of course, Havaianas shopping! I must’ve bought almost 30 pairs! Kept only 4 pairs though and gave away the rest.

really bloated me by the Christ the Redeemer

8. 2009 New Year with my extended family (maternal)

End of 2008 was one of the busiest months (if not the busiest) of my life. I organized 2 weddings (December), my sister’s wedding and my Grandparents’ 50th Golden Wedding Anniversary. My relatives from Canada and the US all came home. I had almost 3 weeks off from work but it felt like a extended work week with daily overtime. Haha! For New Year’s 2009, we all stayed in Astoria Suite booking six 3-bedroom suites. What a riot! It was so much fun though. Tiring but fun.

(ooops, can’t find any photos of this event but I do have wedding pics but this happened Dec 2008…oh well)

matron of honor for Claire's wedding

9. Ben’s Graduation

My 12-year old son graduated from primary school (grade school). He’s now in his 1st year high school. Wow! I really feel old na ๐Ÿ™‚ Before I know it, he’ll be introducing me to some girl who he’s dating…OH NO!!! (happy thoughts…shields up for negative thoughts)

Ben's Graduation

I look forward to a great 2010. Thank you Lord for a wonderful 2009! ๐Ÿ™‚

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Wow! daming ngyari sau last year and its really nice to reminisce!
    Welcome 2010!

    • gailcons permalink

      Thanks Argow ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ikaw dami din ha…like your 1st FM, building all those muscles, sculpting your abs…hahaha! Happy New Year!

  2. What a fruitful year 2009 indeed was for you and your family. We lose some, we gained some. Speaking of losing, 20lbs! What an achievement! Congratulations! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • gailcons permalink

      Thanks Dhenz ๐Ÿ™‚ see you soon! Happy New Year!

  3. marky_mark permalink

    its a great year 2009 for you gail !

    travl, famly , photograhy nice ! losing 20pounds wow !!!

    i like the travel to Brazil the Jo Avila Photograhy:)

    I guess the 20-pound is really a good goal a very good achievement

    COngrats Goodluck this year 2010

    GOD BLESS you & your Family !!!

    Marky_mark

    • gailcons permalink

      Thanks Mark! ๐Ÿ™‚ HM ka ba sa Condura or FM?

  4. Hey Gail! Wow! It was a very busy 2009 for you! I’m happy to hear (or read) of your accomplishments! Though, I hope you won’t be “kuba” like the man. Haha!! I’m curious, what was your previous sport?

    • gailcons permalink

      Hey Rachel! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope I don’t become kuba too. Hahaha! I was into golf and badminton before. More golf though. I love the serene atmosphere when I play golf but i’m just so bad at it. It also eats up too much of my time. Had to travel to Malarayat pa just to play. Hehe!

Leave a Reply

