Skip to content

Simplicity at its Best

April 21, 2010

I read the Holy Bible everyday. It doesn’t matter what time I wake up, I make it a point that I make time.

In this today’s Gospel reading Jesus talked about the bread of life. He said “I am the bread of life;  whoever comes to me will never hunger,  and whoever believes in me will never thirst.” Bread connotes something physical, tangible and something that will quenched ones hunger. But I have seen people having all the material possessions in the world but still remain hungry for something else. I have to admit that I was one of those people (and probably still is). Except for the having all the material possessions part, I admit that I sometimes become too materialistic. I needed to have everything that was top of the line; anything that was “IN”; I had to visit the latest clubs; be at the coolest events. However, it did not made me happy. It was never enough.

This all changed when I found my way back to Him. I now understand and appreciate the simple things in life. Now, I spend more time with my kids. I feel happiest when I am with my family. Just watching my youngest son, Chito, while he’s deep in slumber gives me such great joy. Spending time with my sister and my brother-in-law singing our hearts out inside a videoke bar makes me happy. Watching a feel good DVD movie with hubby without him complaining is already a thrill for me. Having two legs to enable to run freely brings me such joy.

Today, I look at life with a different perspective. A perspective that allows me to appreciate life at its simplest.

This is Joy!

From → Family

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

